KAFM Music Blog

KAFM Music Blog

'The Outer Vibe’ Shines Like A Diamond At The Radio Room

February 1, 2017
Another magical musical moment last night as KAFM’s Radio Room concert series presented Grand Rapids MI regional favorites, the multi-faceted five piece gem, ‘The Outer Vibe”.  With an energy that demanded attention, positivity flow lit up the Radio Room with sunny “Cinematic Surf Disco”, that featured scorching surf guitar riffs, shimmering keyboards, lead solos of sustained and staccato trumpet, a funk\disco dusted rhythm section and some of the best pure male lead vocals in the business powered by front man, Sean Zee.  Playing to an obviously appreciative audience, a well-planned playlist mixed it up with TOV originals, occasionally throwing back to some R&R classics from ‘The Beatles’, ‘Dick Dale’, ‘The Rolling Stones’, and even some ‘Led Zeppelin’.  Masters Quick read more or view full article of their profession (quite literally as several of the band members have up to master’s degrees in, or are professors of, music theory, performance, classical voice, and recording technology) the quintet showcased their individual multi-instrument talents, often switching front and center stage positions to perform their technical expertise solo while still enjoying space to improvise on a musical mélange of past, current, and developing collaboratively written works.  Clearly a band with a plan, TOV recently moved to Nashville to better enhance their goal strategies.  Wrapping up in Colorado after a western states tour, TOV heads back to their native turf before traveling south to Austin for SXSW Showcase performances in March.  If you missed it or just want to relive TOV live, check out this performance of 'Shining Like a Diamond' ....

Band Members:
  • Sean Zee (Sean Zuidgeest ) – Lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, harmonica
  • Nick Hosford  - Guitars, vocals
  • Lisa Kacos  - Keyboards, trumpet, ukulele, drums, percussion, vocals
  • Andrew Dornoff ( aka “Wonder”) -  Bass, vocals
  • Noah Snyder -  Drums, vocals

Releases to date:
  • Games We Play
  • Pretty Good
  • Hoka Hey
  • Monster EP – CD and Vinyl
  • Full Circle – CD and Vinyl
  • Surf Disco Compacto Vol. 1

Set List: (sample listening here)
  1. Angry Young Man
  2. Pink Moon 
  3. Why Don’t You Listen
  4. Fionna
  5. Kitchen Dancer
  6. Under My Thumb
  7. Rose Colored Shades
  8. Take It Slow
  9. Full Circle
  10. Big Bad Machine
  11. Misirlou
  12. Hoka Hey
  13. Sweet To The Rind
  14. Pure Gold
  15. Rock and Roll
  16. Waits For Me
  17. Sold My Brain
  18. Shining Like A Diamond
  19. Crossroads of Desire
Special thanks goes out to KAFM staff and volunteers for “making it happen!”

  Read Less
No Comments   |   Add a Comment >>
On Air:
Up Next: